New Year, New Word

For the past couple of years, I’ve been participating in Ali Edwards’ One Little Word class. Last year I gave up on it because I never got past choosing my word. Life got in the way. A year later, I’m in different space, and I’m going to try again, not because I didn’t last year, but because this year especially, it’s a tool I’m going to use to create the life I’ve been dreaming of. Because I never used the class I paid for last year, I’m going to spend 2015 exploring myself with this word using the 2014 class prompts.

January’s prompts were simple: Declare your word, take a self-portrait, define your word, include a quote featuring your word and then journal about your word.

January15

Text from the layout:

“The phoenix hope, can wing her way through the desert skies, and still defying fortune’s spite; revive from ashes and rise.”   Miguel de Cervantes Saavedra quotes (Spanish writer, author of the masterwork ‘El quijote’, 1547-1616

noun (In classical mythology) a unique bird that lived for five or six centuries in the Arabian desert, after this time burning itself on a funeral pyre and rising from the ashes with renewed youth to live through another cycle.

I chose Phoenix because after everything I’ve experienced between September 2013 and now, I feel like the next logical step is a complete rebirth.

In what way is Phoenix already a part of my life… since I’ve already walked through fire, it’s natural to think of the Phoenix as the image to take me on the next stage of my journey.

What do I want more of in 2015? Positive growth, chances to have the better life I’m trying to create, health.

What do I want less of in 2015? Fear. Loss. Anxiety. Being stuck and trapped.What most excites me about 2015? It’s new. It’s unwritten.

What do I most fear about 2015? That it will be a continuation of 2013 and 2014.

Leave a comment